Members of the Quest Diagnostics Great Midwest team accept the Gambino Award from Janet Piscitelli, M.D., VP & Chief Laboratory Officer and Scott Jeffers, VP Lab Ops and Ops Excellence.

The Gambino Quality Award is Quest Diagnostics’ most prestigious recognition for demonstrating excellence in medical quality. The award, which honors our Chief Medical Officer Emeritus, Dr. Raymond Gambino, is determined each year based on regional medical quality scorecard, proficiency testing, medical quality audits and timeliness of adoption of Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs), for both anatomic and clinical pathology.

Established in 1997 to encourage and recognize quality excellence within Quest Diagnostics, the award has two levels – a Challenger level with criteria that are very difficult to achieve, and a Winner level that highlights the extraordinary commitment of a region to specific quality measures.

The 2018 winner of the Gambino Quality Award is the Great Midwest Region – which encompasses Montana, Wyoming, Utah, Colorado, Kansas, Arkansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Western Ohio, and Southern West Virginia.

“The Gambino Award recognizes the ability to maintain excellence across several quality measures,” said Janet Piscitelli, M.D., Vice President and Chief Laboratory Officer, and executive sponsor of the Gambino Award. “This year I commend the Great Midwest Region for prevailing as the Winner by meeting and exceeding the target for all of these metrics.”

For the last three years the Great Midwest Region has been recognized as a Gambino Challenger. “We are thrilled to have achieved the title of Gambino Winner,” said Matt Hamlin, Vice President and General Manager, Great Midwest Region. “We are truly committed to medical quality and are honored to be recognized in this fashion.”

The East Region and the Southeast Regions are also champions of quality and both have been named as the 2018 Gambino Challengers. “I am delighted to honor three of our regions this year for their dedication to quality,” Dr. Piscitelli said.